not broken [ 01.26.04, 8:40 p.m. ]

on saturday, when i had still a bit of wall to finsih painting, i decided that since i was moving all the furniture into the middle of the living room anyway, i might as well change things about..just for the sake of change. to do that required more cable for the tv, so down the stairs i went to go get it.

as i hit step number three out of twelve, i felt my footing give way. and i rode the next nine steps on my butt using the underside of my arms as steering.

i was in such shock, i had lost my breath because of the fall and all i could feel was pain. i couldn't cry, even though my body wanted the release and at the same time i was thinking about how funny i must have looked. my poor kids gathered round mom who is taking in these awful gasps of air, shaking and not answering their question, mommy are you ok?

i came away with bruises and a wee bit of a scrape on the one arm. Lord, i am grateful. i think if i just fell the wrong way, i could have broken something...

< the color of my life - in black and white >

Click Around
current
archives
profile
blog
photos
reads
extras
email
guestbook
links
host
design