rachel corrie rest in peace [ 04.01.03, 1:29 a.m. ]

I continue to believe that my home, Olympia, could gain a lot and offer a lot by deciding to make a commitment to Rafah in the form of a sister-community relationship. Some teachers and children's groups have expressed interest in e-mail exchanges, but this is only the tip of the iceberg of solidarity work that might be done. Many people want their voices to be heard, and I think we need to use some of our privilege as internationals to get those voices heard directly in the US, rather than through the filter of well-meaning internationals such as myself. I am just beginning to learn, from what I expect to be a very intense tutelage, about the ability of people to organize against all odds, and to resist against all odds.

- rachel corrie, 23, peace activist, 1980 - 2003

emphasis my own

as you can see in her writing she thought herself marginally safe because of her american status. an intense tutelage, but resistance against all odds. this woman and the many others we don't hear about who 'fight' for peace are brave and to be immitated.

war is not the answer.

< war, what is it good for? - mother nature plays a joke >

Click Around
current
archives
profile
blog
photos
reads
extras
email
guestbook
links
host
design